Obsessed Network

Rebroadcast: Say Her Name: The Life and Death Of Sandra Bland.

Rebroadcast: Say Her Name: The Life and Death Of Sandra Bland.

On July 10, 2015, a 28 year-old black woman named Sandra Bland was pulled over in a small Texas town for failing to use a turn signal when she changed lanes. She was ultimately arrested and taken to the county jail. Three days later, she was found dead in her cell. The official coroner's report ruled the death a suicide, but many people believe that Sandra Bland was murdered. Sandy, as she was known to her family and friends, became a national figure in the Black Lives Matter Movement and "Say Her Name" attempts to uncover the truth behind her arrest and death. Where to go from here: TCO Episodes: Episode 24: The Death and Life of Marsha P. Johnson https://www.truecrimeobsessed.com/post/episode-24-the-death-and-life-of-marsha-p-johnson Episode 52: The Central Park Five https://www.truecrimeobsessed.com/post/episode-52-the-central-park-five Episode 99: Remastered: The Two Killings of Sam Cooke https://www.truecrimeobsessed.com/post/99-remastered-the-two-killings-of-sam-cooke Episode 112: Who Killed Garrett Phillips Part 1 https://www.truecrimeobsessed.com/post/112-who-killed-garrett-phillips Episode 113: Who Killed Garrett Phillips Part 2 https://www.truecrimeobsessed.com/post/113-who-killed-garrett-phillips-part-2 Donate: 115 Ways to Donate in Support of Black Lives and Communities of Color https://nymag.com/strategist/article/where-to-donate-for-black-lives-matter.html https://blacklivesmatters.carrd.co/#donate Listen: Code Switch https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/code-switch/id1112190608 1619 https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/1619/id1476928106 Still Processing https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/still-processing/id1151436460 Pod Save the People https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/pod-save-the-people/id1230148653 We Live Here https://podcasts.apple.com/podcast/id978375918?mt=2 The Stoop http://www.thestoop.org/ The Diversity Gap https://www.thediversitygap.com/podcast-1 Yo, Is This Racist? https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/yo-is-this-racist/id566985372 Watch: When They See Us https://www.netflix.com/title/80200549 13th https://www.netflix.com/title/80091741 Selma https://www.imdb.com/title/tt1020072/ Fruitvale Station https://www.imdb.com/title/tt2334649/ Moonlight https://www.imdb.com/title/tt4975722/ In the Heat of the Night https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0061811 12 Movies to Watch to Educate Yourself About Racism and Protest History, Recommended by Experts https://time.com/5847912/movies-to-watch-about-racism-protests/

Duration: 48 min

Release Date:

Share part or all of the audio of this episode